Every record on this site was read on 21 October 2026Check a mover yourself in two minutes
Long Island Move Day

Home/Movers/Hall Lane Moving & Storage

Suffolk County van line agent

Hall Lane Moving & Storage, Commack

Hall Lane Moving & Storage works out of 67 Mall Dr in Commack and is an agent of North American Van Lines. Its website prints USDOT 070851 and MC-107012.

Report cardFMCSA recordHall Lane Moving & StorageCommack, Suffolk CountyAuthorized interstate
  • USDOT25055
  • Power units10
  • Prints a priceNoPublishes no rate
  • Record read21 October 2026FMCSA SAFER snapshot
Before you callThe USDOT and MC numbers on hall-lane.com belong to North American Van Lines; Hall Lane’s own record is USDOT 25055, MC-84242, so ask which number goes on your bill of lading.

On SAFER, read 21 October 2026, those two numbers belong to North American Van Lines of Fort Wayne, Indiana. Hall Lane’s own record sits under USDOT 25055 and MC-84242, in the legal name Original Hall-Lane Moving & Storage Company Inc, doing business as Hall-Lane Moving and Storage. That record shows an Active USDOT status, Authorized operating authority for household goods and general property, 10 power units and 16 drivers. Van line agents often print the van line’s number, because interstate loads move under the van line’s authority.

There is nothing irregular in that. It does mean you should know which number your bill of lading will carry. Rates are not published. Insurance filings and the state certificate could not be checked, and we explain how to check both.

The recordRead 21 October 2026

FormSAFER company snapshotCarrierHall Lane Moving & StorageUSDOT25055
USDOT number25055, legal name Original Hall-Lane Moving & Storage Company Inc, DBA Hall-Lane Moving and Storage (the site prints 070851, which SAFER assigns to North American Van Lines)FMCSA record
MC numberMC-84242 (the site prints MC-107012, which SAFER assigns to North American Van Lines)FMCSA record
Entity typeCarrierFMCSA record
Operating statusAuthorized; USDOT status Active; no out of service date (SAFER snapshot dated 10/19/2026, read 21 October 2026)FMCSA record
Interstate authorityAuthorized for Motor Carrier of Household Goods and Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods); carrier operation InterstateFMCSA record
Power units10 power units, 16 drivers (MCS-150 dated 07/09/2025)FMCSA record
Insurance on filecould not check: the FMCSA Licensing and Insurance page at https://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIVIEW/pkg_carrquery.prc_carrlist returned only a blank search form on 21 October 2026could not check
New York State certificatecould not check: NYSDOT CarCert at https://carcert.dot.ny.gov/ marked its carrier search Functionality Under Development on 21 October 2026, and no public household goods carrier list was found; the site prints NY DOT # 3882 (first party claim)could not check

What they publish about price

  • Hourly ratenot published (home, about and quote pages read 21 October 2026)not published
  • Minimumnot published (same pages)not published
  • Travel timenot published (same pages)not published
  • Depositnot published (same pages)not published
  • Estimate typefree in-home estimate on request; virtual surveys offered; binding or non binding not statedfirst party
  • Valuationnot published (same pages)not published

Two numbers, two records: the van line’s 070851 and the agent’s 25055

Here is the split as SAFER shows it. USDOT 070851 with MC-107012 resolves to North American Van Lines Inc, Fort Wayne, Indiana. USDOT 25055 with MC-84242 resolves to Original Hall-Lane Moving & Storage Company Inc at the Commack address printed on the site. The second record is the one this page is about, and every record line below comes from it.

The two numbers side by side (FMCSA record, SAFER read 21 October 2026)

USDOT 070851, MC-107012
USDOT 25055, MC-84242
Printed where
USDOT 070851, MC-107012hall-lane.com (first party)
USDOT 25055, MC-84242FMCSA record only
SAFER resolves it to
USDOT 070851, MC-107012North American Van Lines Inc, Fort Wayne, IN
USDOT 25055, MC-84242Original Hall-Lane Moving & Storage Company Inc, DBA Hall-Lane Moving and Storage, 67 Mall Dr, Commack

Ask which of the two USDOT numbers will be on your bill of lading

Do not skip this

The pattern is common across the industry. An agent books the job, packs and loads it, and for an interstate shipment the goods usually travel under the van line’s authority and tariff. A reader who looks up the number on hall-lane.com and finds an Indiana company might assume something is wrong. Nothing we read supports that.

The useful question is which company’s name, number and liability terms appear on your paperwork, and the ask list at the end of this page starts there. The carrier or broker guide explains why the tariff follows the number.

Hall Lane’s own record is Authorized, with 10 power units and a 1988 safety rating

The SAFER snapshot, dated 10/19/2026 and read two days later, lists the entity type as Carrier, a USDOT status of Active, operating authority Authorized, and no out of service date. The authority line reads Motor Carrier of Household Goods and Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods). The fleet count of 10 power units comes from an MCS-150 filing dated 07/09/2025, with 16 drivers on the same filing. The carrier operation is marked Interstate.

One line on the snapshot stands out for its age: a safety rating of Satisfactory dated 06/14/1988. A rating that old says that the agency reviewed the company then and has not changed the rating since. It does not describe current practice, and we print it only because it is on the record.

Authorized here means interstate authority. For a move that starts and ends in New York, the governing license is the NYSDOT certificate, which is a separate thing and is covered next.

The site prints NY DOT 3882; the state search that would confirm it is under development

State law puts the certificate number in every advertisement (17 NYCRR 814.1(a)), and Hall Lane’s site prints NY DOT # 3882. We could not confirm that number. NYSDOT’s CarCert portal marked its carrier search Functionality Under Development on 21 October 2026, and no public household goods carrier list turned up on dot.ny.gov.

The same is true of the insurance filings: FMCSA’s Licensing and Insurance page answered our request with a blank search form and needs a form submission we could not make. Both lines on this page therefore read could not check. Neither is a finding about the company. To close the gaps yourself:

  1. Call NYSDOT at (518) 457-6512 or email nymoving@dot.ny.gov with the exact name Original Hall-Lane Moving & Storage Company Inc and the number 3882, and ask if the certificate is current.
  2. Open https://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx and enter USDOT 25055 to see the snapshot we read; then enter 070851 to see the van line’s.
  3. Open https://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIVIEW/pkg_carrquery.prc_carrlist, enter 25055, answer the challenge question, and read the BIPD and cargo insurance lines and their effective dates.
  4. For an interstate job, ask which of the two USDOT numbers will be on the bill of lading, and run the L&I check on that one.

Founded in 1950 by one page and 1970 by another, with no rates on either

The home page says Clell James Hall founded the company in 1950 and carries a Celebrating 75 Years line. The about page says since our inception in 1970. Both are first party, both are on hall-lane.com as of 21 October 2026, and we print both rather than pick. Ask which date the company stands behind; the answer tells you something about how carefully the site is kept.

Pricing is absent. We read the home page, the about page and the quote page and found no hourly rate, no minimum, no travel time rule and no deposit figure. The site asks you to request a free in-home estimate and offers virtual surveys. Binding or non binding is not stated. Valuation terms are not printed.

For an interstate move the federal rules apply. You are owed a written estimate based on a physical or virtual survey and the Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move booklet. Released value liability is no more than 60 cents per pound per article unless you buy Full Value Protection. The valuation guide prints the figures.

The service list is long: local, long distance, interstate, intrastate and international moves, employee relocation, senior moving, office and commercial work, warehousing, full service packing, short and long term storage, and junk removal. A second company, Forever Safe Moving and Storage, uses Suite 400 at the same 67 Mall Dr address and names Allied Van Lines as its van line. We note the shared address because a quote from either building neighbor should name the carrier whose authority the move runs under.

Ask them this, in writing

  1. Which USDOT number will appear on my bill of lading, 25055 or 070851, and whose tariff sets the price?
  2. Is NY DOT 3882 a current permanent certificate, and can you send a copy?
  3. What is the hourly rate, minimum and travel time rule for a local Long Island move, in writing?
  4. Is the estimate binding or non binding, and will it follow an in-home or a virtual survey?
  5. What deposit do you take, and under whose name is it held?
  6. Was the company founded in 1950 or 1970, as the two pages of your site say?

Print this page and tick each one off on the call.

What we read, and whenWe read hall-lane.com (home and about pages) on 21 October 2026, the SAFER snapshots for USDOT 25055 (snapshot dated 10/19/2026) and USDOT 070851, and the FMCSA SMS profile for 25055, all read 21 October 2026. The FMCSA Licensing and Insurance search returned a form only, and NYSDOT CarCert showed its search under development, both on 21 October 2026. Regulatory wording comes from 17 NYCRR Part 814, NYSDOT’s moving page and FMCSA’s liability and estimate pages, read the same day. Corrections: send us a current SAFER or NYSDOT printout and we will update this page and date the change.
+

Three more profiles

Amityville, Suffolk County

RecordUSDOT106412Authorized interstatePower units20

RatesPublishes no rate

Bekins agent with 20 power units on the federal record; its FAQ prints a binding estimate policy, a deposit rule and both valuation options.

Woodbury, Nassau County

RecordUSDOT526079Authorized interstatePower units17

RatesNo moving rate; storage listings start at $35 (first party)

Established in 1985 in Woodbury; prints USDOT 526079 and NYDOT T-11671 on its own pages (first party).

Riverhead, Suffolk County

RecordUSDOT1292731Authorized interstatePower units4

RatesLiability add on $0.50 per $100 of declared value, $12.50 minimum (first party)

Its FAQ prints the deposit rule, the payment methods and both valuation levels, $0.30 and $0.60 per pound per article (first party).

All 38 movers

Visit hall-lane.comThe record