Every record on this site was read on 21 October 2026Check a mover yourself in two minutes
Long Island Move Day

Home/Movers/Verity Van Lines

Nassau County independent carrier

Verity Van Lines, Seaford

Verity Van Lines is at 3685 Merrick Road in Seaford and holds USDOT 24880 and MC-94992. SAFER, as of 08/02/2026 and read by us on 21 October 2026, lists it as a Carrier with an Active USDOT status and no out of service date.

Report cardFMCSA recordVerity Van LinesSeaford, Nassau CountyAuthorized interstate
  • USDOT24880
  • Power units15
  • Prints a priceNoPublishes no rate
  • Record read21 October 2026FMCSA SAFER snapshot
Before you callVerity Van Lines is an independent carrier despite the name, and its site prints no rates, no deposit terms, no valuation terms and no NYSDOT certificate number.

The operating authority line reads Authorized for Motor Carrier of Household Goods, and the fleet line reads 15 power units and 10 drivers. Household Goods is the only cargo box checked. The site prints the same USDOT number in its footer, and the two agree. Despite the name, the site describes an independent, family owned company and names no van line.

Its history claim is one of the oldest in our set: the site says its history dates back to 1912. What is missing is any rate, deposit or valuation term, and any New York certificate number. The insurance filings behind the federal authority and the state certificate could not be checked on our read date. The sections below say what the record shows, what the site claims, and how to close the gaps.

The recordRead 21 October 2026

FormSAFER company snapshotCarrierVerity Van LinesUSDOT24880
USDOT number24880 (also printed in the company site footer)FMCSA record
MC numberMC-94992FMCSA record
Entity typeCarrierFMCSA record
Operating statusAuthorized; USDOT status Active; no out of service date (SAFER as of 08/02/2026, read 21 October 2026)FMCSA record
Interstate authorityAuthorized for Motor Carrier of Household Goods; Household Goods is the only cargo box checkedFMCSA record
Power units15 power units, 10 drivers (MCS-150 dated 02/12/2026)FMCSA record
Insurance on filecould not check: the FMCSA Licensing and Insurance page at https://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIVIEW/pkg_carrquery.prc_carrlist returned only a blank search form on 21 October 2026could not check
New York State certificatecould not check: NYSDOT CarCert at https://carcert.dot.ny.gov/ marked its carrier search Functionality Under Development on 21 October 2026, and no public household goods carrier list was found; no NYDOT number printed on the sitecould not check

What they publish about price

  • Hourly ratenot published (home page and Best Long Island Moving Company page read 21 October 2026)not published
  • Minimumnot published (same pages)not published
  • Travel timenot published (same pages)not published
  • Depositnot published (same pages)not published
  • Estimate typein person and virtual estimates offered; binding or non binding not statedfirst party
  • Valuationnot published; site says fully qualified and properly insured for long distance moving (first party claim)not published

A five digit USDOT with household goods as its only authority

USDOT 24880 is one of the lowest numbers in this directory, and its authority line is narrower than most. It reads Authorized for Motor Carrier of Household Goods, with no general property authority alongside it. For a household move that is the authority that matters. The entity type is Carrier, which on FMCSA’s definitions means a company that owns trucks, employs the crew and takes responsibility for the goods.

The fleet line, 15 power units and 10 drivers, comes from an MCS-150 filing dated 02/12/2026, so it is this year’s count as the company filed it.

The record is interstate. It says nothing about a move from Seaford to Massapequa, which is a New York matter under Transportation Law section 191 and NYSDOT’s certificate regime. The site’s footer prints the USDOT number but no NYDOT certificate number, and the state’s advertising rule, 17 NYCRR 814.1(a), expects one in all advertising. The state booklet tells consumers to be wary of a mover that cannot give its certificate number. The site does not print one, so ask for it first.

Independent and family owned, with a 1912 claim and two trade memberships

The name suggests a van line agent. The site says otherwise: an independent, family owned company, with no van line named anywhere we read. Its history claim is over a 100 years of experience with roots in 1912, which we print as a first party claim. The site states membership in the Long Island Moving and Storage Association and the American Trucking Associations, and says it is BBB accredited. All three are first party statements; we did not verify them with the associations.

Service is described as both Nassau and Suffolk, plus nationwide, with Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens added in the footer. Long distance pages name Florida, Tennessee, the Carolinas and Arizona as direct service destinations. The service list covers local and long distance moves, furniture removal, full service storage, portable storage, self service storage, packing and packing supplies. The site describes an extensive fleet of modern, well maintained moving trucks, consistent with the 15 power units on the record. Estimates are offered in person and virtual; FMCSA’s red flag list opens with an estimate given sight unseen.

No rate, deposit or valuation term appears on the site; the one liability line is a claim

We read the home page and the Best Long Island Moving Company page on 21 October 2026. There is no hourly rate, no minimum, no travel time rule, no deposit figure and no statement of whether the estimate is binding. On liability the site says it is fully qualified and properly insured for long distance moving. That is a first party claim and we print it as one. It is the kind of statement the records could confirm, if the records would load.

Hourly rate, minimum, travel time

not published (home page and Best Long Island Moving Company page, 21 October 2026).

Deposit

not published.

Estimate

in person or virtual; binding or non binding not stated (first party).

Valuation

no terms printed; the site says fully qualified and properly insured for long distance moving (first party claim).

You are owed a written estimate after a survey and the federal booklet, whatever the site prints

Do not skip this

On an interstate move: a written estimate based on a physical or virtual survey, and the Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move booklet. Released value liability runs no more than 60 cents per pound per article unless you buy Full Value Protection.

On a New York move: a free on site estimate on request under section 196, the Summary of Information for Shippers of Household Goods, and an order for service showing the maximum you must pay to get delivery. Ask for the deposit figure and the valuation options in writing before you sign anything. The estimates guide lists the six things to get in writing.

Two lines read could not check, and the fix is one call and two lookups

The FMCSA Licensing and Insurance page for USDOT 24880 gave us a blank search form with the words Please enter the challenge question on 21 October 2026, so we could not read the BIPD and cargo filings. NYSDOT’s CarCert portal marked its carrier search Functionality Under Development the same day, and we found no public list of certificated household goods movers. Neither failure says anything about this company; the public lookups were not working for us that day.

If any of the lookups differ from what we printed, tell us and we will correct the page with the new date.

  1. Call NYSDOT at (518) 457-6512 or email nymoving@dot.ny.gov: give the exact name Verity Van Lines and ask whether a household goods certificate is in force and what its number is.
  2. Open https://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx: enter 24880 and compare the snapshot with the record block on this page; SAFER prints its own as of date.
  3. Open https://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIVIEW/pkg_carrquery.prc_carrlist: enter the same number, answer the challenge question and read the insurance lines.

Ask them this, in writing

  1. What is your NYSDOT household goods certificate number, and is the certificate permanent?
  2. What is the hourly rate, minimum and travel time rule for a local Nassau or Suffolk move, in writing?
  3. Is the estimate binding or non binding, and will it follow an in person or a virtual survey?
  4. What deposit do you take at booking, and when is the balance due?
  5. What valuation is included, and what does Full Value Protection cost on my shipment?
  6. Can you send current BIPD and cargo insurance certificates before moving day?

Print this page and tick each one off on the call.

What we read, and whenWe read verityvanlines.com (home page and the Best Long Island Moving Company page) on 21 October 2026 and the SAFER snapshot for USDOT 24880 (SAFER as of 08/02/2026, read 21 October 2026). The FMCSA Licensing and Insurance search page returned a form only and NYSDOT CarCert showed its search under development, both on 21 October 2026. Regulatory wording comes from FMCSA’s Protect Your Move pages, 49 CFR Part 375, NY Transportation Law sections 191 and 196, 17 NYCRR 814.1 and NYSDOT’s Summary of Information booklet, all read 21 October 2026. Corrections: if you are the company and a line here is wrong, send us the record and we will reprint it with the date of the change.
+

Three more profiles

Commack, Suffolk County

RecordUSDOT25055Authorized interstatePower units10

own record; site prints North American's 070851

RatesPublishes no rate

Founded 1950 per its home page and 1970 per its about page; the USDOT and MC it prints, 070851 and MC-107012, belong to North American Van Lines per SAFER.

Amityville, Suffolk County

RecordUSDOT106412Authorized interstatePower units20

RatesPublishes no rate

Bekins agent with 20 power units on the federal record; its FAQ prints a binding estimate policy, a deposit rule and both valuation options.

Woodbury, Nassau County

RecordUSDOT526079Authorized interstatePower units17

RatesNo moving rate; storage listings start at $35 (first party)

Established in 1985 in Woodbury; prints USDOT 526079 and NYDOT T-11671 on its own pages (first party).

All 38 movers

Visit verityvanlines.comThe record